Log in

Log in

Danish Group of IABSE

Ms. Barbara Boesen MacAulay
Danish Road Directorate
Guldalderen 12
Hedehusene 2640

Mr. Jan Vig Nielsen
Hannemanns Alle 53
Hovedstaden 2300

NG logos available!



Case Studies 3 Book Launch Party

Case Studies 3: Investigation of the Chirajara Bridge Collapse” was published by IABSE in 2022. A book launch party was held in Denmark on the 18th January 2023 by the Danish National Group, with the attendance of two of the authors Klaus Ostenfeld and Christos T. Georgakis. Publication of Case Study 3 followed the very successful IABSE webinar held on 27 May 2021 where the findings of the investigations into the tragic collapse of the Chirajara Bridge were shared with the engineering community. Please see link: IABSE - Webinars

This event was to mark the publication and to present the authors with their personal copies of the Case Study 3 and provided a unique opportunity for the participants to gain further insight into the investigation. The Danish Group of IABSE is very proud the achievement and would like to promote this very special publication.

Award Ceremony for Mikael W. Braestrup

Mikael W. Bræstrup was awarded an Honorary Membership of IABSE at the AWARDS Ceremony in Zürich on 17 November 2022, “In high appreciation for his outstanding and dedicated services to the association”. Unfortunately, Mikael could not attend the ceremony in Zürich, so the Danish National Group celebrated this award in Denmark on 14 December. Joined by his family, Mikael received his certificate from Tina Vejrum, President of IABSE, at a champagne reception. The celebration marked the appreciation and recognition IABSE would like to express to Mikael for his continued dedication to the Association.


Photo from L to R: M.W.Braestrup with his family, receiving the Certificate from the President, and the National Group Chair, Vice Chair.


On 11 May, 2022, the Danish National Group held its Annual Meeting (in person) and Tina Vejrum, who is the President Elect of IABSE, stepped down from her role as the National Group Chair, after a very successful tenure, and passed on the baton to Barbara Boesen MacAulay, as the new NG Chair. Henning Schultz, chaired the Annual Meeting. Henning was the former Chair of the Danish NG. Changes in the NG core committee is listed below.

Photo from L to R: Incoming and outgoing Danish NG core committee Tina Vejrum, outgoing Chair; Barbara Boesen MacAulay, incoming Chair; Lars Fuhr Pedersen, Treasurer; Jan Vig Nielsen, Secretary; Jens Henrik Nielsen; NG member.

The National Group is planning tentatively the following activities, if you are interested to join please contact us, and we shall connect you to the NG Chair, for further information.

-  Webinar on the winner of the Danish Structural Award 2021, Lille Langebro
-  Site visit to Fehmarn tunnel construction site, May 2022
-  Site visit to Storstrommen Bridge, September 2022
-  The Danish Bridge and Tunnel Award, 2022: The winner will be announced at Danish Bridge Day on 5 April 2022
-  The Danish Structural Award 2022: Deadline for nomination on 1 May 2022
-  Annual meeting: 10 May 2022.

Jungholzstrasse 28
8050 Zurich

Location: Map Info

Have a question?
+41 43 443 97 65

Bank details: Click here.
Privacy Policy

Follow Us
on Social Media