Outstanding Paper Award Committee (OPAC)

The Outstanding Paper Award Committee (OPAC) annually reviews all articles submitted for the IABSE's quarterly journal, Structural Engineering International (SEI), and identify recipients of the annual IABSE Outstanding Paper Award in both scientific and technical paper categories. They uphold IABSE’s mission of driving high quality and progressive information through the process of selecting winners for this award.

Reports to
Technical Committee

1-2 per year


NameCountryPositionTerm StartTerm End
Dr. Andreas Lampropoulos, University of BrightonUnited KingdomChair20172021
Dr. Harshavardhan Subbarao, Construma Consultancy Pvt LtdIndiaVice Chair20172021
Prof. Dr. Eng. Mitsuyoshi Akiyama, Waseda UniversityJapanMember20172019
Ms. Eftychia Apostolidi, University of Natural Res. and Life Sciences, ViennaAustriaMember20172019
Dr. Mikael W. Braestrup, Rambøll Denmark A/SDenmarkMember20172019
Dr. Ane de Boer, Ane de Boer ConsultancyNetherlandsMember20172019
Prof. Dr. Jorge de Brito, Instituto Superior Tecnico Dept de Engenharia CivilPortugalMember20172019
Prof. Giorgio Diana, Politecnico di Milano - Dipartimento di MeccanicaItalyMember20172019
Mr. Salvatore DiBernardo, Ciorba Group, Inc.United StatesMember20172019
Mr. Christos GiarlelisGreeceMember20172019
Dr. Guy L. Larose, RWDICanadaMember20172019
Prof. Shunichi NakamuraJapanMember20172019
Prof. Dr. Alfred Strauss, Univ. of Natural Hazards + Life SciencesAustriaMember20172019