Prof. Sung-Pil Chang, South Korea

Sung-Pil Chang, Emeritus Professor of Seoul National University, recent Vice-President of IABSE has been awarded IABSE Honorary Membership “in high appreciation of his outstanding and dedicated services to the Association”.

Sung Pil Chang received his Doctor-Ing. degree at Stahlbau Institut in 1976 and his Diplom-Ing. degree in Bauingenieurwesen in 1971 from the Stuttgart Technical University in Germany. He received his Bachelor's degree in the Civil Engineering Department of Seoul National University in 1965. After he had finished his studies in 1976, he served for 32 years at the Seoul National University as an Assistant, Associate and Ordinary Professor. Since 2008, he is a Prof. Emeritus of Seoul National University.

Prof. Chang was the Founding Director of Korea Earthquake Engineering Research Centre and the Founding President of the ANCER (Asian-Pacific Network of Centres for Earthquake Engineering Research). He served as the President of KSCE (Korean Society of Civil engineering) and was the Founding President of EESK (Earthquake Engineering Society of Korea). In 2013 he became to be the first Honorary President of EESK for 5 years. He was also actively involved in Nuclear Power Plant Industry in Korea as a Member of the Nuclear Safety Committee and also served as the Chairman of the Nuclear Safety Expert Committee for the Site and the Structure in the Ministry of Science and Technology of Korea. He is now a Senior Member of The National Academy of Engineering of Korea and also a Life Member of The Korean Academy of Science of Technology. He has been actively involved since 2009 to develop the design technologies for cable supported bridges as a programme director at the Super Long Span Bridge R&D Centre. His major scientific research areas are the dynamic behaviour and the health monitoring technology of cable supported long–span bridges.

Won by the enthusiasm and energy he experienced at the 10th IABSE Congress in 1976, Sung-Pil Chang joined IABSE the same year and was the first Chair of the Korean Group  that was founded in 1997. He has been active in numerous Scientific Committees of IABSE Conferences, and was first a member and subsequently Vice-Chair of Working Commission 5 (2003-2005). He was Vice-President of IABSE from 2005-2013. As Chair of the OC he organised the 18th Congress of IABSE, which was a magnificent success. In 2013, before the end of his 2nd term as Vice-President, he became the first ´flag bearer´ of IABSE, bringing its banner to the top of the Mount Eiger, Switzerland. Since 2013 he serves on the Advisory Board to the Executive Committee and is a Delegate to the Permanent Committee since 17 years.