IABSE Awards 2018

The International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE) is pleased to announce the Laureates of the IABSE Awards 2018. The President of IABSE, Fernando Branco, will present the awards on the occasion of the 40th IABSE Symposium Nantes which will be held in on Wednesday morning, September 19, 2018.

The Outstanding Paper Award (OPA) is remitted each year to the author(s) of a paper published in the preceding year’s issues of the IABSE Journal Structural Engineering International (SEI), encouraging and rewarding contributions of the highest quality. Starting with the 2011 Outstanding Paper Award, it is presented in the categories ‘Technical Report’ and ‘Scientific Paper’.

In the ‘Scientific Paper’ category the OPA 2018 award goes to P. Stylianidis, D. Nethercot, for ‘Considerations for Robustness in the Design of Steel and Composite Frame Structures’ Number 2, May 2017, page 263- 280.

In the ‘Technical Report’ category the OPA 2018 goes to D. Radojevic, K. F. Kirkwood, for ‘The New Old Bridge: Renovation of the Macdonald Suspension Bridge’, Number 1, February 2017, page 32 – 37.


International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE)
The mission of IABSE is to exchange knowledge and to advance the practice of structural engineering worldwide in the service of the profession and society. To fulfil its mission, IABSE organises conferences and publishes a high quality journal, Structural Engineering International (SEI); publishes books reflecting the work of its Technical Groups; creates Task Groups, as required by new needs and technological progress; offers activities within National Groups of IABSE; supports Young Engineers with a programme, and presents annual Awards in recognition of outstanding achievements in structural engineering.

Third parties may freely distribute this text in print or electronic form. For more information, contact Brindarica Bose at bose@iabse.org

For more information, please contact: 
Brindarica Bose
Publications and Communications Manager
IABSE c/o ETH Zurich
Hoenggerberg HIL E21.3 
8049 Zurich 

Press Release (pdf)